i

Buy a domain and host your business online free for 3 months. **

Claim offer
.com
$ 5.99 $ 26.99 /1st year
.one
$ 1.99 $ 16.99 /1st year

Log in

Control Panel Webmail Website Builder Online Shop File Manager WordPress

What’s inPrivate browsing, and how to use it? (2024)

InPrivate browsing is a feature on the Microsoft Edge browser. When you close the browser, it deletes all the data you entered in your session. Most browsers these days have such a feature, but with different names. Google Chrome calls it “Incognito,” for example.

Easily build a website you’re proud of

Create a professional website with an easy-to-use and affordable website builder.

Try 14 days for free
  • Choose from 140+ templates
  • No coding skills required
  • Online in a few steps
  • Free SSL certificate
  • Mobile friendly
  • 24/7 support

How to use InPrivate browsing?

Microsoft Edge doesn’t use this feature by default. You must activate it. Read how to do it:

  1. Go to your taskbar.
  2. Find the Microsoft Edge logo. 
  3. Right-click it. 
  4. Select “New InPrivate window.”

There is another method you can use:

  1. Open Microsoft Edge. 
  2. Right-click a link.
  3. Click on “Open link in InPrivate window.”

Following these steps will prevent your device from storing your data. But there’s a catch. Some computers have software that sends your online activity to a third party. It could be your employer or university, for example. InPrivate doesn’t prevent that.

Likewise, you’re still vulnerable to malware, which can send your data to a hacker. The most common way to get infected is through email. You open a message and download an infected attachment. Be informed of email threats and use virus and spam filters.

Easily build a website you’re proud of

Create a professional website with an easy-to-use and affordable website builder.

Try 14 days for free
  • Choose from 140+ templates
  • No coding skills required
  • Online in a few steps
  • Free SSL certificate
  • Mobile friendly
  • 24/7 support

How to turn off InPrivate browsing

To turn off InPrivate browsing, you only need to close and reopen Microsoft Edge. It always opens without InPrivate unless you ask it to do so. But you may want to disable this feature altogether. You may wish to do so to keep a local copy of a user’s data, for example.

How to disable InPrivate browsing

1. Right-click the Start menu.

2. Select “Run.”

3. Write “gpedit.msc.”

4. Hit “Enter.”

5. Click “Computer Configuration.”

6. Go to “Administrative Templates.”

7. Select “Windows Components.”

8. Open “Microsoft Edge.”

9. Go to its settings folder.

10. Right-click “Allow InPrivate browsing.”

11. Select “Disabled.”

12. Click “Apply.”

How to delete your InPrivate browsing history

You need to do nothing. InPrivate browsing deletes your history when you close the browser. It also erases the following data:

  • Cached images and files.
  • Passwords (but that doesn’t mean you don’t have to create a good password).
  • Autofill form data. 
  • Site permissions.

But you still keep any files you downloaded during InPrivate browsing. It also lets you use extensions installed in the browser, so be mindful of them. They may record your data

Is InPrivate browsing safer?

Yes, depending on your case. If you access a shared computer, like in a web cafe, InPrivate browsing prevents the following users from accessing your information. But it doesn’t protect you from viruses. Be mindful of the best website security tips.

Easily build a website you’re proud of

Create a professional website with an easy-to-use and affordable website builder.

Try 14 days for free
  • Choose from 140+ templates
  • No coding skills required
  • Online in a few steps
  • Free SSL certificate
  • Mobile friendly
  • 24/7 support