Home Guides & FAQ
print

Administration of the blog

1: Deleting a blog

If you click Delete you will be asked to confirm the deletion

Decide and confirm if you want to delete the blog.

If you click Cancel you will return to the list of your blogs. If you click Next the blog will be deleted.

NB: The folder on your FTP will not be deleted even though you delete a blog. That is to save any images or files uploaded in the blog.

2: Restoring a blog

Click Restore if you accidentally deleted some or all of the blog files on your ftp.

3: Editing a blog

Click Edit to enter the edit menu

Click Edit to enter the edit menu.

3.1: Changing blog name and url

To change the blog’s name and url click Blog Details. This will open the first step of the blog creation. When you have chosen your new name or url, click Save to return to the Edit menu.

3.2: Changing time settings and anonymous users’ permissions

To change the time settings and/or the anonymous users’ permission click Miscellaneous Settings. This will open a page corresponding to the second step of the blog creation. When you have changed the settings, click Save to return to the Edit menu

3.3: Changing the language settings

As default the menus in your blog will be shown in the language the visitors browser uses as default language. This means for example that most English visitors will see English menus while French visitors will see French menus. If you instead want all your visitors to see the same language you can specify that language.

Select blog visitors language.

To change the language setting, click Language settings and select the setting you prefer. Click on Save to save this setting.

Select the blog language that you prefer for the blog.

3.4: Changing the ’About me’ and ’About the blog’ text

To change the About me and About the blog texts in the blog, click About me & About the blog. When you are done, click Save to return to the Edit menu.

3.5: Administrating users

To administrate users in your blog click Users/Permissions. This will open the page corresponding to the fourth step of the blog creation.

The Blog Administration lets you add users.

For each user you can either:

  • Edit - Change username, e-mail and/or user permissions
  • Delete - Delete the user
  • Restore - Restore the password and send it to the user’s e-mail

To create a new user click Add user. Then either choose to add a new user by clicking the New user radio button or to add an existing user by clicking the Add existing user radio button.

Add a new user to your blog.

If you chose New user, type the e-mail address, the desired name, and the password for the user twice.

Type in the blog user details.

If you chose Add existing user, simply choose the users you want from the list of other users on other blogs, which will appear after clicking the radio button.

Select a new or an existing blog user.

Finally choose the permissions for the user and click Save

Adjust the blog user permissions.

3.6: Administrating categories

To administrate categories in your blog click Categories. This will open the page corresponding to the fifth step of the blog creation. First you can create new categories.

Enter a category name.

Below you can administrate your existing categories.

Administrate your blog categories.

For each category you can either:

  • Move up/Move down - Move the category up or down in the list
  • Edit - Change the name of the category
  • Delete - Delete the category

3.7: Changing the template

To change the template of your blog, click Templates to access the page corresponding to the sixth step of the blog creation. Here you can choose any template from the template library to change the current design of your blog (the current template will be outlined in red). Find the template you want, and click Select.

3.8: Changing the top banner

To change the top banner of your blog, click Change top banner/picture for the chosen template.

You can upload your own image by clicking Upload new banner.

Upload a new blog banner from your computer.

After the upload click Stretch image to make the image fit the default banner size.

Select whether or not the uploaded image should be stretched to fit the default banner size.

Or you can choose one of the pictures in the library by clicking Browse.

Select a blog banner from the library.

Here, you click View to see a preview of a blog with this banner, or click Select to choose this as your top banner.

You can view and select a banner picture from the blog banner library.

3.9: Changing the layout

To change the layout of your blog, click Change the blog layout. Here you can change colors, fonts and font sizes of the chosen template and make your blog unique.

You can change the blog layout including colors and fonts.

To change the color of an element, click on the field below Color.

Change the color and font size for your blog.

You can use the circle to set a new color and the palette to set the exact shade.

Use the circle and palette to set a new color and shade.

To change the font and size choose the preferred setting from the drop-down menu. On some texts you can also choose a Line heigth.

Select your preferred font and font size for your blog.

To reset the settings of the layout for a single element, click on Reset to default. If you want to reset all the settings for the blog layout, click on Reset all at the bottom of the page.

Reset all layout settings for your blog.

In some blog templates you can select your own background image. To change the background image, click Upload image and select an image to upload. You can choose between five different settings for the background image.

Select repetition settings for the blog background image.
  • repeat-x - The image will be repeated horizontally.
  • repeat-y - The image will be repeated vertically.
  • repeat-x repeat-y - The image will be repeated both horisontally and vertically.
  • no-repeat - The image will not be repeated.
  • none - Image will not be used, select this to remove an uploaded image.

When you have made all your changes, scroll to the bottom on the page and click Update.

Click update to save all your settings.